With her work “Afterwords,” Sofia Mavragani organizes a concert of bodies, a performance of ‘vocal dance’. She explores the intersections between dance, theater and music, where the human body is a tool and the common ground. The linguistic experience returns to a paradoxical afterworld, the primal source of sound and movement, and from there to the basis provided by breath and vibration. Guided by the pulsation of the body, the process of representation returns to its most basic vocabulary and reminds us of the playful and universally recognized nature of body communication. Language thus recovers its ‘soft’ characteristics and opens up to new possibilities of connection, understanding, coexistence.

“Afterwords” completes the trilogy initiated by Mavragani’s two previous works, “Speechless” and “Lady R.,” in which the choreographer investigates language through the immersion of speech and its musicality within the form of a dance performance.

Concept / Choreography: Sofia Mavragani

Performers / Co-makers: Chara Kotsali, Giorgos Kotsifakis, Ioanna Paraskevopoulou, Christos Strinopoulos

Original music composition / Voices Instrumentation: Martha Mavroidi

Dramaturgy advisor: Paraskevi Tektonidou

Costumes: Fingersix

Make up artist: Katianna Hatzilouizou

Lighting: Vasilis Klotsotiras Artistic

Collaborator / Vocal Training: Alessio Castellacci

Photography: Margarita Yoko Nikitaki

Graphic design: Dimitris Politis

Production: FINGERSIX

With the support of neimënster

Supported by Ministry of Culture and Sports of the Hellenic Republic

Premiere: Arc for dance festival

23/05/2019 Kivotos Theatre, Athens

Using Format